top of page

BLOCK PRINTING WITH CORK ALPHABET LETTERS

So the dreading winter school break is here and I am sure every parent is scratching their heads....................What to do now with kids?!!!.

Keepings kids busy in the winter school break is not easy. One of the biggest struggle we face in Canada is the long unpredictable winter season. It is not always possible to take them out, specially when the temperature drops -20 degree Celsius.

Living in Edmonton, Canada for the past 9 years has taught me one important lesson, stop moaning about the cold winter and just learn to live with it. I don't drive at the moment which means I am stuck at home with my 5 years old who is in Kindergarten and a 4 years old when my husband is at work during the winter times. And oh boy! they need constant things to do to keep them busy. I really don't like the idea of them sitting and watching TV all day , so I try to set up easy craft projects that they enjoy. I usually ask them what would they like to do, e.g painting , drawing, science projects...etc. Involving them in the decision making will allow them to enjoy the activity more . It also helps me prepare and create a suitable activity for them.

My eldest son Hisham loves the alphabet and my youngest Bassam just loves getting messy with paint. So I wanted to create something that will combine both their interest. Block Printing with Cork Alphabet letters and Neon Acrylic paint.

Here is what you need for this activity :

1. Acrylic Paint (choose what ever colours they like, we chose bright Neon Acrylic Paint. These are easy to wash from their hands and clothes)

2. Cork Alphabet letters (I got mine from the Dollar Store but you can find them at any craft store such as Consumer Crafts).

3.Paint brushes.

4. A plate or any surface they can use to avoid spreading the mess ( You know what I am talking about!!)

5. Painting Apron (optional if you want to keep their clothes clean, check the Ikea Mala Apron).

6. Plain white paper ( We used the Ikea Drawing paper roll )

What to do:

1. Let the kids choose which colour paint and letter they would like to start with. (Letting them choose will make the activity more enjoyable and more likely will engage better).

2. Put the paint on a flat surface so they will able to lay their letters while they paint them. My Eldest opted out just dipping the letter onto the paint directly and then block printing on the paper. On the other hand, my youngest wanted to paint the letter using paint brush then block printing onto the paper. I just gave them the tools they needed and they had the choice how use them.

3. Let them experiment with the amount of paint needed to block print. This was a great sensory activity, as they were getting their hands dirty with the paint. My son loved the texture of the Cork letters and he eventually discovered that having too or less paint on the letters was and important factor to get a perfect block print.

Experimenting with different amount of paint on the letter to see how it block prints.

He had to arrange the alphabet in order because he likes his neat system!!!!

Hisham started mixing different colours and I am in love with the result. I might even save these for their sketchbook.

I didn't have to guide them for this activity as it is self-discovery. Kids are different and have different attention span so don't force it. Within 5 minutes into the activity my youngest was bored and decided to play with play-dough instead. While his brother stayed for an hour block printing with the letters and later with his own hands !!!

HAPPY BLOCK PRINTING

bottom of page